Island

As I sit on this island, mind wandering
Looking for a glimpse
Missing in the sky, a moonlight dance
Wishing for the sun
Either or, something that may bring light
Light my darkness
Something, brightness into my dreary world
Erase the darkness
Pierce through the demons that laugh at mine
At my torment
Torment created by a lonely world stained
Sitting stranded
I reach for the sky but it remains out of reach
Pulling back
I stare at an empty hand before my face
So many lines
They trace a path an image or a smile
Laughing all the more
And then I close my grasp shutting it out
But it echoes
The sound repeat through the distant darkness
On this island
Where a lonely man sits, waiting for the night to end

Leave a Reply

