I Don’t Wanna Be

I told them I don’t want to be in love,
but every time I see her I want to run
I forget everything, even my own name
Just as quickly my mind changes
She walks in with love on her shoulder
Seeing it causes me to shudder
Nowhere I can go to escape
Her beauty entrances me, I hate
I don’t wanna be in love
Don’t do it to me
Move on, take it away
I don’t wanna be in love

Her voice captures me before I can move
Stuck in the doorway, not trying to be rude
But, I don’t want to be in love
So why does it come in and give me a hug
I don’t know what it is, but it does what it does
I wish it wasn’t but it was
A haunting image that follows behind
Every time she enters the room
Love waves me over and I feel the doom
Cause I just can’t fight it
12 rounds and I lost them all in an instant
I don’t know what it is, but it does what it does
Just wish I could sweep it under the rug
Cause……..
I don’t wanna be in love
Don’t do it to me
Move on, take it away
I don’t wanna be in love

She sits and smiles at me with an aspiring glow
I look for a way out but love puts on a show
And I find myself in her eye again
Should I just face that I have no chance to win
Maybe just stop denying it all
Just lean back and let it fall
Let love capture me in its grasp
It’s doing too much too fast
It still won’t release me to be free of
Even though I told it I didn’t want to be in love

2 responses to “I Don’t Wanna Be

Leave a Reply

