Shelf life

She gave her heart and I put it in a jaw

Set it up on the shelf and let it collect dust

Every once in a while I’d take it and look

But I never truly embraced it

So now I sit thinking to myself

Wondering how it all went so wrong

Used it as a paper weight, a shelf brace

Everything but what it was intended for

Now the space looks so empty

Spot it should have never been in the first place

Should of kept it with me all along

Should of kept it close to mines

She told me, warned, reminded me

I told her to calm and not to worry

But now here I sit questioning it all

That spot empty as this feeling

That missing emotion in a void

She took it back from where I left it

So I guess it was my fault though, problem is,

she took my heart with her when she left

 

Leave a Reply

