Happy Family

*I should place a disclaimer. If you are easily offended then you might not want to read. I could be overreacting myself, but I rather take peoples feelings into consideration just to make sure*

I put the gun to my head, pause

Think for a minute…

Lower it slowly and I point it at her

The fear in her eyes betrays her thoughts

How can she not feel the same?

Does she not understand my sadness?

It’s that selfishness

That mentality that has us here

Supposed to be one big happy family

Now she’s begging, crying

Give me a minute to think

“Where’s the baby? Where is she?”

Only god knows I tell her

But we’ll be together again soon

I see her sadness evaporate

Exploding into anger cursing me

Turning back around, firing

Hole melts the wall

As does her anger

That face of fear and terror returns

See bitch, this is your fault

That same manner of putting me down

Trying to break me

That’s what got you here

Crying will do very little

Now be quiet, I need to think

Bitch, scream for help one more time…….

Take one last sip from the glass

Putting the gun to my head

I turn and look to her

Staring into eyes like the first time we met

Slowly pulling on the trigger….

It fires….

Two to her chest

She lays motionless

A still angel, forever beautiful

I go and grab the baby

She’s peaceful…….

Daddy loves you I tell her

Sitting down next to my still angel

Lifting her up

Her head gently on my shoulder

Together we’ll be forever

The love of three

For the last time, breathe

I put the gun to my head

We can once again be a happy family

Now and forever in the grace of God……

Copyright ©2012 Taihair Brown

Leave a Reply

