The Serpent

I am the serpent that devoured eternity

Stained the flesh and tainted the mind

Gave rise to toil and soured the fruit

I placed a thorn between the two

Crippled the sky and earth below

Banished the guardians from their temple

And birthed a sword of flames in their path

I gave rise to the mind

I birthed knowledge its self

Stroked your image and made you naked

You are what you are

And you have me to thank

I would say you’re welcome

But you already know

I am the serpent that gave you what you seek

I quelled your thirst

But in turn, left you hungry

I delivered upon you the world

I am the serpent

Your gift and your curse

Copyright ©2012 Taihair Brown

2 responses to “The Serpent

Leave a Reply

