The Lake

I’m living this pain but everything’s okay

Or so they say

It’s like everyday I sit and pray

My sea of depression has turned to a lake

To drown in it is my fate

I’m living this pain but everything’s okay

Rising to a new day

Another hunger for lacking food on this plate

Another dream crushed fueling my hate

It’s like everyday I sit and pray

Jealous of the ducks by the lake

I’m living this pain but everything’s okay

Feeding ducks by the lake

With each piece of bread, my soul fades away

Waiting till that moment my body breaks

It’s like everyday I sit and pray

But only the ducks look my way

I’m living this pain but everything’s okay

Water ripples wash away

Bread crumbs vanish with the lost of hate

Ducks walk where the body once stayed

Leaving behind a dark lifeless lake

Void of any life, no more need to pray

No more pain cause everything’s okay

Copyright© Taihair Brown 2012

One response to “The Lake

  1. The rhyme scheme was great. The accompanying picture was also great as well. The repetition of the poem allowed for the emphasis of what you were talking about. Very nice!

Leave a Reply

