Summer Love

She said it’s love and she admires me

It’s a hot day, yet I couldn’t be more chill

Her smile cools my heart and warms my soul

She makes me laugh under the sun

and I wish I could make this feeling last forever

No letting go, running on the beach

Waves crashing on the shore brushing our feet

If I had one wish, it would never end

Long days and short nights,

Why does summer only have to last three months?

And as we say goodbye, tears run down her face

We promise to keep in touch

Call, write, text, or email

Knowing she might forget is killing me

Why does summer have to be short?

A young man struck by summer love,

then life pulls you back to reality

It’s a shame, but it’ll be back in just 9 more

©2013 Taihair Brown

summer love

Leave a Reply

