My Brother

I used to cry from the bullies on the block

And you used to fight so they’d leave me alone

Taught me how to knuckle up

Told me to never back down and fight back

I had no father and neither did you

So we formed a kinship, a brotherhood

You were more than just my brother, family

Who knew you’d grow to be a killer

Taking a drastic turn from the one I took

Maybe cause you were busy fighting for me

Fighting for my pride cause I was too skinny

Bigger kids picked on me often

and you’d throw a punch for every one I received

We’d stay up late talking about our dreams

When we grow up, we’d be having things

So where did the fork in the road deviate us?

Maybe if I had carried my own weight,

your own would have been lighter

I remember your mama’s boyfriend

When he laid hands on her, you wanted to kill him

It was more than defense of pride,

but defense of your Pride

Nothing could hide from the pain you held inside

Maybe it all unleashed into a violent street façade

cause my brother was a caring dude full of love

But someone else didn’t see it that way

One too many fist fights and rage battles

When your mama called me and gave the bad news

Someone took a gun and extinguished my brothers light

I felt powerless and like a coward

The pain of knowing that I was not there

Every time you came to my defense

Why wasn’t I there to ease the weight off your shoulders?

If I had just one wish, I would ask God,

God, please spare my Brother

©2013 Taihair Brown

Leave a Reply

