With a smile

I wake and start my day with a smile.

I shower and get dressed with a smile.

On the drive to work, I don’t curse.

There’s no yelling or flipping of fingers.

I drive to work and sit in traffic with a smile.

I work my shift and laugh with co-workers.

I get my job done with a smile.

I sit through meetings, get yelled at,

yet I never frown or fuss.

I get through my day with a smile.

I go home to kiss my wife and kids.

I answer all their enthusiastic questions

and I comply with all their requests.

I do it all with just a smile.

I go into the bathroom so no one will see me cry.

No one can see the pain that hides beneath this smile

©Taihair Brown 2015

Leave a Reply

