When the Heart Leaves

open door

There’s no letter left when it leaves.

No knock at the door to say goodbye.

Just the quiet whisper of a closing door.

No chance at a “don’t leave, please.”

 

It did it with so much ease.

Couldn’t even look me in the face to lie.

Left without a word while I snored.

I was left to wake and fall to my knees.

 

I see the sun peaking from behind the trees,

Shining a light upon the tears in my eyes

Before they fall from my face to the floor.

I should have never trusted someone with the keys.

 

There’s no letter left when it leaves.

No knock at the door to say goodbye.

Just the quiet whisper of a closing door.

No chance at a “don’t leave, please.”

 

Copyright © 2016 Taihair Brown

Leave a Reply

